Big Harvest from Little Garden

I quit blogging sometime last spring.   If I’m honest, I quit blogging about two years ago. About the same time I got pregnant.  I tried again sometime after my darling baby arrived but it fizzled again.     I’d gone so far down the I quit blogging road that I quit even thinking about blogging, I quit seeing stories unfold in life and I even quit feeling guilty that I quit blogging.

IMG_1017Last spring my husband bought me a couple of raised garden beds.  I had a vague idea that watching things grow was good for kids and good for the soul.   Somewhere in the back of my mind I wanted to have nice organic pesticide and preservative free vegetables to feed my children.   I ordered in really good dirt.    The fact that I thought it looked like crushed up Oreo cookies shows that in reality I didn’t care about fake food.

I spent the summer taking photos of my piles of green beans, my lemon cucumbers, and lovely amazing tomatoes.   Pitiful strawberries (They really didn’t do well. I think I let them grow too many daughter plants.  I just couldn’t rip the daughters out and throw them away.   I  have a thing for daughters.  I need to rename the off shoots something else.  Maybe space sucking monsters.)   The chef at my house spent the summer looking up recipes to attack the piles of food I kept bringing into his kitchen.    IMG_1295 Tonight’s harvest was large.  The chef researched recipes and  tonight we’re having cherry tomato, onion and basil sauce.  All from the garden.  Go Oreo Dirt!

I also spent the summer enjoying summer.  We went to the fair and ate cotton candy.  We went camping and ate everything in sight.  We celebrated with a cancer free friend and ate sausages and pie.  We had a fabulous birthday party and ate homemade tamales’ and margaritas.  Celebrated our youngest’s first birthday and ate piles of Hawaiian food.  Repainted the decks and ate junk food.  I helped run a charity golf tournament, raised a ton of money and ate whatever my dear friends put in from of me.    I walked to the beach as part of the Portland to Coast relay, got massive blisters and ate  hard-boiled eggs, peanut butter and carrots.

IMG_1297We were busy all summer. Lots of great memories.  I have a confession though.  I also sadly spent the summer playing too much on my phone.   Really who cares what level of Candy Crush I achieve or what some random person I knew twenty years ago did over the weekend?    This morning lying in bed I deleted a couple of apps from my phone.   Shocker, this afternoon I started thinking about blogging.   And smiling at my kids.  And smelling my tomatoes.  My husband is a smarty pants.  I should listen to him more often.   You can tell him I said that.

So I make no promises.   I have no clue if this note is the start of a trend.   I hope so.  Wanna join me?  Delete something off your phone.   See what happens.   You may be surprised by the harvest.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Big Harvest from Little Garden

  1. Martin

    Time is precious. Ironically I also found my self wasting time conquering each level as if I was in some sort of Candy Crush tournament.

    Our time saving pocket sized smart devices keep us connected socially, they give us the freedom to view or research just about anything in the world but they also steal our time away from us by means of the endless apps.

    I am guilty on all counts – this morning I deleted ALL the games on my phone. The Candy trophy by clearing level 105 will go to someone else. The beautiful thing is not only did it free up valuable memory for books or other meaningful apps but in some sense it freed me. Today put stake in the ground (not Oreo dirt) and said enough.

    Thanks for sharing – good luck with the garden and bon appetite to many scrumptious meals your chef will soon be preparing.

  2. Blogging is a total escape and therapy: And where else do you get to write about all the good food you picked, the food you ate, and the pitiful strawberries and gorgeous tomatoes you grew? Blame Facebook! :) I prefer blogs, more context and an ability to have deeper thoughts. Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

